PRESS RELEASE – September 4, 2021

Ottawa, ON – Business Office CVFSA

The nomination period for the 2021, “CVFSA Lifetime Achievement Award” © closed on June 7th, 2021. This prestigious award was made possible by a partnership between the Canadian Volunteer Fire Services Association and Duracell and their partners. The CVFSA Awards Committee is made up of individuals from different regions of Canada to reflect fairness in any selection of the candidates nominated from across Canada. The chairman of the 2021 CVFSA Awards Committee, which will select the 2021 winner, is Mark Pound from the Kentville Volunteer Fire Department. Other members include are Kolin Murray, from northern Canada, Chris Jardine, from western Canada, Kathy Babcooke, from eastern Canada, Atousa Pourfard, from central Canada, and Michelle Vandevord, representing the Aboriginal Firefighters Association of Canada.

Mark Pound, Safety Officer, B.A, B.Ed., calls Kentville, Nova Scotia home and is a graduate of Acadia University. He is employed as a Substitute Teacher with the Annapolis Valley Regional School Board. He is also a member of IATSE #849 in the Transportation Department. Mark lives with his wife Angela and children; Mackenzie and Madison. Mark is very active in his community. As part of the Kentville Volunteer Fire Department Mark is a Safety Officer/Medical First Responder and a Firefighter Team Leader for Muscular Dystrophy. He is a member of the Disaster Response Team with the Canadian Red Cross, Kentville Centre and the Duty Officer for St. John Ambulance Volunteer Medical Responders, Waterville Division #497. Mark is a member-at-large of the Nova Scotia Firefighter School (NSFS) Board of Directors and enjoys chairing the Canadian Volunteer Fire Services Association (CVFSA) Lifetime Achievement Award committee.

Kolin Murray, Firefighter, first served with the Inuvik Fire Department in Inuvik, Northwest Territories. He is a NFPA 1001 certified Level II Firefighter, a NFPA 1041 Fire Instructor, a NFPA 1021 Fire Officer, and is certified in Hazardous Materials Operations under NFPA 472. He is also a Canadian Red Cross Certified Emergency Medical Responder. At the Inuvik Fire Department, Kolin was leader of the equipment and

maintenance portfolio where he was responsible for administering the maintenance program for 5 fire apparatus. Kolin has relocated to Whitehorse, Yukon and is now a member of the Golden Horn Fire Department. He is once again working full time in the commercial trucking industry, working as a driver for a local fuel delivery supplier. He has been an active member of the Inuvik Firefighters Association as both President and Secretary and is proud to represent Northern Canada as a member of the 2021 CVFSA awards committee.

Chris Jardine, Fire Chief, is proud to lead his dedicated men and women of the Vegreville Fire Department in Vegreville, Alberta. He has lived in Vegreville since 2001 and has grown through the ranks to his current position. Chris is also employed as an Operations Supervisor and is currently in the role of Acting Manager for Alberta Health Services (EMS) in the Central Zone. Chris started his Fire Career in Minnedosa, Manitoba in 1988 during his High School Education. He also had a brief one-year stint as a firefighter in McCreary, Manitoba before travelling to Alberta in 1998 to pursue an Emergency Services career. Chris has also worked in EMS in Manitoba and Alberta since 1994. Chris is a Level 2 Firefighter, a Safety Codes Officer in the Fire Discipline, and a 1041-Level 2 instructor. Chris lives with his wife Barb, and two children: Avery and Dayne who are all very active in the community. Along with being Fire Chief, Chris also spends a lot of his time as a local “Dance Dad” for his two children who are very active in the Dance community, covering different dance genres such as Ukrainian, Tap, Jazz and Hip-Hop. He was also Past Vice President and Treasurer of the Local Ukrainian Dance School. Chris is very excited and honored to be part of the 2021 CVFSA Selection Committee and looks forward to working closely with the other committee members.