The CVFSA is currently seeking volunteers to serve on the 2018 Awards Committee.

The committee will consist of six participating members, including a chairperson, and five candidates are currently needed to establish the committee. For quorum to be present, the chairperson will work with a committee of at least four members.

  • One individual appointed from    Western Canada
  • One individual appointed from    Central Canada (Quebec or Ontario)
  • One individual appointed from    Atlantic Canada
  • May include one individual from  Northern Canada (YK, NT, NU)
  • One member from   Aboriginal / First Nations / Métis Communities

Applications are being accepted starting January 30th 2018.

Members of this committee will be required to make a selection of candidates or a short
list of individuals for the 2018 “CVFSA Lifetime Achievement Award”©
Further duties include the selection of candidates for the Don McKee & James Hayter Scholarship Funds. If you are interested in becoming a member and participating within this committee or if you know of someone who would make a good member, please encourage them to submit an expression of interest. All members of this committee must hold
membership in the Canadian Volunteer Fire Services Association or be willing to hold membership in the Association.

Reply to:

Successful applicants must demonstrate:

  • Knowledge in computer and email programs
  • Willingness to participate in teleconferences with committee members
  • balance of education and broad practical experience in the Canadian Fire Services or an Emergency Service provider experience
  • Any combination of fire service education and experience may be considered.
  • Must also have excellent interpersonal and communication skills
  • An ability to meet strict confidentiality requirements
  • Committee may use Facetime, Skype or Zoom to communicate.
  • Would like the committee to include at least one French-speaking bilingual member